Who We Are

The Mental Health and Recovery Services Board of Seneca, Sandusky and Wyandot Counties is a volunteer Board made up of community members representing the counties it serves. The Board is empowered to plan, develop, fund, administer and evaluate the local system of care for mental health and addiction services. The Board is responsible for establishing a unified system of prevention, treatment, and recovery support services. The Board is uniquely positioned to rapidly identify and effectively respond to evolving community needs. The Board receives federal, state and local levy funds. While a majority of federal and state funds have stricter restrictions or limitations for services, local levy funds allow the Board to independently plan and implement much needed community services such as in-school counseling, community mental health and addiction education, crisis intervention team training for first responders, critical incident stress management teams, child support services in partnership with other local organizations, housing assistance for individuals with mental illness, and other support services. The Board is fortunate to have local levy funds in each of its three counties.

Healthy, stigma-free communities with resources that support recovery.

Establish high quality, innovative, cost effective and culturally sensitive mental health and addiction services.

Promote healthy and drug-free communities.

Ensure quality mental health and addictions services.

Financially accountable and outcome driven.

Promote culturally sensitive and innovative services.

Our History

The Mental Health and Recovery Services Board of Seneca, Sandusky and Wyandot Counties was established May 28, 1968, through consultation with the three Boards of County Commissioners, which determined which county would be Host County. Because of the central location of Seneca County, it was chosen to be Host County, which also meant it would be listed first (rather than alphabetically) in the Board’s title. The passage of House Bill 648 in 1967 signaled the beginning of a community-based system of care by establishing Community Mental Health Boards throughout Ohio. Further progress and commitment to community-based services was demonstrated through the passage of Senate Bill 160 in 1980; followed by Senate Bill 156, The Mental Health Act of 1988. Finally, the passage of House Bill 317 established Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services Boards while maintaining separate Community Mental Health Boards in Ohio’s largest counties. All other Boards were named Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Boards, which has morphed into the Mental Health and Recovery Services Board.